You Don’t Have to Homeschool Alone

teamwork-2499638_1920One of the best decisions I made when I started homeschooling was to join a support group. In fact, I joined several. Although I had a master’s degree in education, I knew very little about the wide world of homeschooling. I needed guidance. I needed encouragement. I needed all the help I could get.

The first homeschool association I joined was formed by members of a local church. At least ten ladies in this group were former public school teachers who were now homeschooling their own children. They loved what they were doing.

  • They provided a wealth of information on choosing curriculum.
  • They introduced me to online learning.
  • They suggested my children take some classes outside the home.
  • The group invited professional speakers who discussed preparing students for college and teaching children with special needs.
  • Families got together once a month to do something fun.

This group provided the advice, encouragement, and fellowship I desperately needed.

The second alliance was with parents involved in our local homeschool co-op. We all helped out in some way. We taught classes, served in the lunch room, cleaned, or worked at the administration table. These parents enjoyed homeschool life and made learning fun. They organized field trips, talent shows and theater productions. They planned dance classes, parties, and book sales. Friendships developed as we worked and taught together.

A third group met at a private school that offered classes for homeschoolers. I became friends with parents of children with special needs. My small group understood the challenges that students with Asperger’s face. We shared stories about our unique homeschooling dilemmas. We laughed and we prayed. I learned I wasn’t the only one who made mistakes or had a child act inappropriately. We loved hanging out together with our kids.

You do not have to homeschool alone! Joining others will greatly increase your joy and help you become a better home educator. No one is qualified to teach every subject. We all need help. It’s more fun to make the homeschool journey with other families.

How do you find a homeschool group?

Ask friends, relatives, and neighbors. Visit local churches, home studies learning centers, community centers, and homeschool co-ops. If you live in a rural area, there are online groups you may join. Homeschool.com provides a great database of organizations and support groups around the United States. So does nationalhomeschoolassociation.com. There are also home educator groups on Facebook, and homeschool conferences are held across the country.

Leave a comment